60 Years and Counting
The idea for a Country Club was born in April of 1955 by ten future board members, Harold Brewer, Don Parke, Clyde Clayburn, Bob McIntosh, Jack Prose, Jerry Foster, Jay Colby, Al Bowler, Gus Nimtz and William Cornelison. Searching for the perfect spot for a golf course, they eventually settled on a piece of property owned by Mr. Tedd Knowles. Their dream became a reality on November 18, 1955 when Rolling Hills Country Club was founded.
After months of negotiations, the sale of the land was completed in February 1956, and construction of a temporary clubhouse began. Thanks to the number of generous individuals who accepted a membership in exchange for supplies, it was built at no cost to the membership. Construction of the first nine holes began in the spring of 1956. The front 9 holes were officially opened for play on September 1, 1956. By 1958 the membership had grown to 600 members and construction of the permanent clubhouse, known today as the Applewood Golf Course, was completed in February 1960.
In the mid 60’s Coors Brewery Co., which owned a 180-acre tract of land on the South side of West 32nd Avenue., proposed that a land swap be negotiated. Coors agreed to underwrite the cost of building a new 18-hole championship golf course, a new clubhouse, pro shop, swimming pool and tennis courts in exchange of the land. On October 27, 1965, a special meeting of the Board of Directors and the membership was held and after much debate, the membership agreed that the Board of Directors should continue negotiations with Coors Brewing Co., which eventually led to our present location. A new clubhouse was built and opened on March 28, 1968.
In 2009, the membership voted and approved the construction of a new clubhouse. Opened in July 2010, the structure is distinctive and spectacular, delivering an open and inviting feeling to all members, their families and guests. New amenities were added giving the membership a total experience of family fun. Our new clubhouse reflects the premier private club Rolling Hills has grown into.
In December 2011, the membership voted in favor for the Board of Directors proposed new name and logo, Rolling Hills Country Club was now The Club at Rolling Hills. Our new brand supports the unique image of our new clubhouse and the challenging J. Press Maxwell designed golf course. Keeping in mind that Rolling Hills is who we are and that we are proud of our heritage, The Club at Rolling Hills was born and is here to stay for future generations to embrace.